The Birthrite Series

An epic Dark Romantic Fantasy that delves deep into history, lore, and the depths of the human mind...

WINNER AT B2BCYCON 2018 - Character Dorothy Blake voted as the winner in the Romance Genre Character Tournaments





Travel the epic journey that is captivating readers...

Visions of infant twin boys, clouds, a young woman taking her own life, and a collision of space, time, and realms...
On the eve of Summer Solstice in 1844, four men in different areas of the world share an experience that ends up impacting not only their own lives, but those of the future generations.
Nicolae Ganoush, a young fugitive from a Romani slave village in Wallachia escapes into the night with his younger brother, and battles with inner demons and a murderous act that will haunt him until the end of his days.
Jonathan Blake is an eighteen-year-old Irishman living in the American Midwest. After meeting and falling in love with an American Native girl, his life with her will take a turn that begins to slowly unravel an ancient truth behind their lineages.
When James Livingston agrees to help sponsor an orphanage being built by his good friends, the Flemings, he views it as yet another project to enrich the new growing town of Plains, New York. But an experience he has in room 410 inside one of the buildings on the property will make him question everything he believes. And the troubles may be much closer to home than thought.
In Tuxpan, Mexico, twelve-year-old Hector de Fuentes discovered a mysterious cave hidden amongst a pocket of a large rock formation at the end of the coastline. Now at sixteen, it has become a place for him to think, read, and escape from the outside world. But Hector also has visions, seeing people and places that nobody else can. And being at the cave seems to enhance that ability…
In the year 1931, seventeen-year-old Dorothy Blake is living in Plains, New York. The Fleming Orphanage has long fallen into disuse but is kept by the town as a landmark. The buildings loom high on a hill, overlooking the town and taunting the townsfolk with its folklore. On Halloween night, Dorothy goes up there with friends. The group of six expect nothing more than a good time and a few laughs. But they instead fall to a dark, brutal evil; one that extends far beyond the orphanage and the town of Plains. The descent is only the beginning…

The Birthrite Series is a journey into the vast unknown, plunging deep into the dark crevices of the mind, begging the question of what sanity really is and if the insane truly are. Are we really shown the whole truth of what surrounds us or is it an illusion? It also tells of deep-rooted love, planted centuries ago and a story of family, forgiveness, and redemption.



 "I am in love with her work and her dark writing style, and I am sure that you will fall in love with them as well! " - author/blogger, Ashley Nestler of Peachy Keen Book Reviews


"Descent (The Birthrite Series, #1) (Volume 1), was one of those books that you "cannot put down."...I was transported into multiple times and dimensions, and it was if I was really there! I soon began to identify and fall in love with the characters as if I really knew them in my reality... is truly an amazing author and artist who uses words so well in her writing that you need simply to read her book and it is as if you have stepped into a new world with no television or technology needed; just your mind..." - Five Star Amazon Review 

"Descent is much like a rabbit hole of the unexpected and you will find yourself perking your eyebrows in curiosity more often than not. I highly recommend this book to readers who enjoy suspenseful stories with a unique plot." - Five Star Amazon Review

"The story is rooted in romantic character building with splashes of fantasy and erotica (both dark and innocent). The inclusion, and amount, of research into Indo-European heritage coupled with Celtic and Native American Indian mythologies and mysticism is superb (the supernatural plays a role here as well)...I really had a hard time putting this book down. There were some pretty intense chapters in terms of violence, lovemaking and sexual tension; scenes that kept the energy levels up.

This book would appeal to folks who like romance, dark passion, fantasy, mysticism, history, genealogy and overall good writing." - Five Star Amazon Review


Descent (The Birthrite, #1) was the novel of choice for the Literary Vacation Club (known previously as Go Indie Now!) Celtic Lore Special Edition Subscription Box for October of 2016.


Ebook available at KoboSmashwordsApple iTunesBarnes & Noble NOOK and Amazon!

Paperbacks available at Amazon and CreateSpace

Signed paperbacks of Descent (The Birthrite Series, #1) and Sacred Atonement: A Novelette (The Birthrite Series, #1.5) are available at my official online store.


See a write up on the series at

Spotlight of Descent at the blog of Francis H. Powell